From $79.95 for a ten-year notary term
Your One-Stop Shop to Become a Notary in Arkansas
The American Association of Notaries offers a simple step-by-step guide to become a notary in Arkansas. With our help, becoming an Arkansas notary is easy and hassle-free.
To become a notary in Arkansas, you must:
Be 18 years of age or older
Be a legal resident of Arkansasor a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed by or operating a business in Arkansas
Be a U.S. citizen or a permanent U.S. resident
Be able to read, write, and understand the English language
Not have been convicted of a felony
Not have had a notary commission revoked in the last ten years
Start the Arkansas Notary ProcessGet Started
How to Apply For an Arkansas Notary Commission
If you meet the qualifications listedon the previous section, follow the steps below to apply for an Arkansas notary commission.
Order a ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond
The state requires all notary applicants to provide proof of a ten-year , $7,500 notary bond. The notary bond protects the public from a notary's errors and omissions. Click here to order anotary bond.
Complete an online notary application and exam
Allnotary applicants must complete a web-based notary applicationon the Arkansas Secretary of State's websiteand pass an open-book notary exam administeredby the Secretary of State.
Mail the notary application to the State
Print and mailyour notarized notary application with your original signature, a copy of the notary bond, and a $20 application feeto the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office. Allow two to four weeks for processing.
Take the oath of office
Once your application is approved,you will receive two sets of oath of commission certificates. Take them, along with the original notary bond, to the county's recorder of deed to takethe oath of office before a clerk. Return one of the forms to the Secretary of State. The State will mail you a notary public identification card and notary certificate of commission.
Purchase Arkansas notary supplies
At a minimum, you will need an Arkansas notary stamp to perform notarial acts.Save up to 40% on notary supplies. All our notary stamps are made in-house, comply with Arkansas notary law, and come with a lifetime warranty.
Email us a copy of your commission certificate.
Fax or email a copy of your Arkansas notarycertificate of commissionso we canprepare and ship your Arkansas notary stamp, notary journal, and any additional notary supplies that you have ordered.
Start the Arkansas Notary ProcessGet Started
Arkansas Notary Value Package I
Everything you need to become a notary in Arkansas
Includes a One-year Membership to AAN
Limited time offer - save up to 40% on notary supplies
|This Arkansas notary package includes:|
|Ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond ($50)**|
|Trodat self-inking rectangular notary stamp (item # AR201)**|
|Arkansas notary record book (item # AR702) **|
|One-year membership to AAN (a $19 value included with your notary supplies order at no additional cost to you)|
|Ten years of expert support (includes help with notary procedures, name/address updates, and more)|
Your Cost: Only $79.95*
Apply Online Now
* TheArkansas Notary Value Package I may be purchased separately at the same net savings without the state mandatory ten-year, $7,500notary bond for $29.95 plus $7.95 for shipping. Enter item # P101 on theorder form. TheArkansas Notary Value Package II may be purchased separately at the same net savings without the state mandatory ten-year, $7,500 notary bond for $39.95 plus $7.95 for shipping. Enter item # P102on theorder form. The Arkansas ten-year, $7,500 notary bond may also be purchased separately for $50. Discounts and savings apply only to supplies.
**Required by law
Six Simple Steps to Become a Notary in Arkansas
Order a ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond.
The notary bond is required by the State for all notary applicants. During the notary application process on theArkansas Secretary of State's website, you will be asked to enter the notary bond number, the bonding company name, and the notary bond issue date and effective date. We will provide you with the notary bond information you need to complete the notary application on the State's website. Save time! No need to wait for days to receiveyour Arkansas notary bond. You can now order and download the notary bond instantly upon checkout. The cost of the notary bond is only $50.
Get Started(Video) How to Fill Out Your Notary Application
Review the Arkansas notary law.
All Arkansas notary public applicants are required to review and understand the Arkansas notary laws and pass a notaryexam administered by the Arkansas Secretary of State. Reading theArkansas Notary Public & eNotary Handbookwill help you understand the duties and powers of an Arkansas notary as well as the prohibited notarial acts. The handbook will also equip you with the knowledge to pass the open-book notary exam administered by the Arkansas Secretary of State.
Complete the Arkansas notary application.
The Secretary of State requires all Arkansas notary applicants to complete a web-based notary application on theirwebsite. The notary application cannot be submittedonline. You need to print and mail the application with a copy of the notary bond and a $20 application fee. Once you purchase the notary bond, followthe steps below to start the notary application:
- Go to theArkansas Secretary of State’s website.
- Click on “Create an account” or log in to your account.
- Click on the “Notary” tab in the menu on the top and select “Notary Registration.”
- Take the notary exam administered by the Arkansas Secretary of State.
- Complete and print the Arkansas notary application.
- Complete and sign the affidavit section of the application before a notary public.
- Mail the completed notary application, a copy of thenotarybondthat you downloaded on our website, and the $20.00 filing fee to the State.
Take the oath of office.
Two to four weeks after you mail in your notary application, the State will send you two sets of oath of commission certificates in the mail. Take them, along with the original notary bond, to the county's recorder of deeds in your county of commission. Sign the forms and take the oath of office before a clerk. There will be a separate fee paid to the county for this filing. Return one of the signed oath of commission certificates to the Secretary of State's Office. The state will then mail you a notary identification card and a certificate of commission.Your commission is not valid until you file the completed oath of commission with both the county recorder of deeds and the Secretary of State.
Order your Arkansas notary supplies.
Save up to 40% on the same Arkansas notary supplies that you may find somewhere else plus receive afree one-year membershipin the American Association of Notaries at no additional cost(a $19value).We offer only the highest-quality products, which comply with all Arkansas legal requirements for notaries. All our Arkansas notary stampsare manufactured in-house, and we stand behind them 100%. All our notary supplies come with aLIFETIME REPLACEMENT GUARANTEE– no questions asked!
Receive your notary supplies.
Emaila copy of your Arkansas notary certificate of commission to firstname.lastname@example.org or fax it to1-713-649-0011so we can prepare and ship your Arkansas notary supplies.
Arkansas notary bonds and errors and omissions insurance policies provided by this insurance agency, the American Association of Notaries, Inc., are underwritten by Western Surety Company (established 1900). Kal Tabbara is a licensed insurance agent in Arkansas.
A training course is not required, but the Secretary of State has a free online course on its website. You can also review the Arkansas Notary Public and eNotary Handbook to prepare for the state-required exam.What is required to become a notary in Arkansas? ›
- Be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident.
- Be a legal Arkansas resident (or a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed or operating a business in Arkansas)
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have no felony convictions.
- Be able to read and write English.
To become an Arkansas notary, you must purchase a ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond. The cost of the bond is only $50.00.Can a notary notarize for a family member in Arkansas? ›
Can I perform a notarization for a family member? Arkansas law does not specifically address this issue. However, most notary authorities agree notaries must not notarize for their family members. You would compromise your role as an unbiased witness and may jeopardize the validity of an important transaction.How much is a notary bond in Arkansas? ›
The Arkansas Secretary of State requires a completed application, a $20 application fee, and a $7,500 surety bond to become a licensed notary public.Can you notarize without being a lawyer? ›
Notarization it is to certify or attest to a document by a notary public. The 2004 Rules of Notarial Practice provides that a notary public must be a lawyer in good standing and must not have been convicted in the first instance of any crime involving moral turpitude.What is the first step in the Arkansas notary application process? ›
- Step 1: Obtain Surety Bond.
- Step 2: Notary Management System Account.
- Step 3: Complete Exam.
- Step 4: Complete the Secretary of State Application.
- Step 5: Submit your Application.
- Step 6: Certificate of Commission and Oath of Commission.
- Step 7: County's recorder of deeds.
- Step 8: Secretary of State.
So, can a notary public notarize out-of-state documents? The short answer is yes, notary publics are legally allowed to notarize documents from any state as long the notarial act is conducted within the geographical boundaries of the notary's state of commission.What qualifications does a notary need? ›
There are three stages to qualifying as a Notary: Academic Training, Professional Training and Appointment. There are exemptions if you apply within 5 years of these modules being studied which may mean no further examinations are required before beginning the professional training.What is the most I can charge for a notary? ›
State law usually sets the highest charges allowed, and notaries can charge any amount up to that limit. 1 Standard notary costs range from $0.25 to $20 and are billed on a per-signature or per-person basis. 2 In certain states, notaries can set their own fees.
A notary public is not permitted to notarize a signature on a document if the signatory is the notary's spouse, son, daughter, mother, or father. Even though some states permit notarization for family members, the practice is highly discouraged regardless due the potential for a conflict of interest.How do I get a notary bond in Arkansas? ›
How do I get my bond? In Arkansas, bonds purchased from the NNA are emailed to you within 24-48 business hours, but not more than 30 days prior to your current expiration date. If you did not receive your bond in your email, please call 1-800-876-6827 or email us and we will assist you.When must a notary use blue or black ink in Arkansas? ›
(1) At the time of notarization, the notary public shall sign his or her official signature in blue or black ink on every notary certificate.Can a notary notarize a document from another state? ›
Yes, a notary public can legally notarize documents from any state as long as the notarial act occurs in the state in which they were commissioned.Can someone notarize on your behalf? ›
More often than not, they are just agents or representatives of a lawyer. The lawyer allows these guys to use his name and notarial commission, as well as sign on his behalf.How much does a 5000 bond cost? ›
For applicants with good credit, surety bonds usually cost between 1% and 5% of their value. Therefore, for a surety bond of $5,000, an applicant with a strong credit history can expect to pay between $50 and $250.How much does it cost to get licensed and bonded in Arkansas? ›
The cost of your bond depends on a number of factors. Each city determines their own total amount, but they all vary between $1,000 and $10,000.How much is a surety bond in Arkansas? ›
What Do Arkansas Surety Bonds Cost? Surety bonds generally cost 1-15% of the required bond amount. Costs vary significantly depending on the bond amount you need and your rate (which is the percentage of the full bond amount you must pay).Can you notarize a document if the person is not present? ›
In both administrative cases, the Court cited Section 2(b), Rule IV of the Rules on Notarial Practice of 2004, which states that a person shall not perform a notarial act if the person involved as signatory to the instrument or document is not in the notary's presence personally at the time of the notarization; and is ...Who can be a notary public? ›
Who can be appointed a Notary Public in Kenya? The Act further states; “No advocate shall be appointed under this Act unless he has practiced as an advocate in Kenya for not less than five years immediately preceding his application to be appointed as a notary public”.
As a publicly commissioned official, a notary is tasked with verifying the authenticity of documents, and they serve as impartial witnesses when signing legal documents. Legal documents are notarized to ensure that transactions are properly executed and to deter fraud.What is are common reason s notary applications are rejected in Arkansas? ›
These are some common reasons why a notary application can be rejected: The name of the applicant on the application is not the exact same name that is on the bond. The application was not properly notarized by a current Arkansas notary in good standing. There was no $20 application fee enclosed.How do you start a notary process? ›
After possessing a degree in law, the applicant must apply for an advocate in any of the state bar council as length experience and years of practice is required in order to be a notary public. Candidates with a minimum of 10 years of practice as an advocate can apply for notary public through the legal profession.How is a notary appointed? ›
any part of India, and any State Government, for the whole or any part of the State, may appoint as notaries any legal practitioners or other persons who possess such qualifications as may be prescribed. A notary appointed by Government gets no salary, as the work does not keep him fully occupied; Phagu Ram v.Is Arkansas a no notary state? ›
§ 21-14-101, the Secretary of State may appoint and commission an individual person as a notary public in Arkansas. A notary public may perform notarial acts in any part of the state for a term of 10 years.Should notary be of same state? ›
Yes, it is centralized scheme of notary and the document notarized by any notary is valid all over India. You can use notarized document executed in Karnataka can be used in Kerala and vice versa.Is Arkansas a notary state? ›
The Business and Commercial (BCS) Services Division of the Secretary of State records and certifies Notaries Public for the State of Arkansas. A Notary Public verifies the identity of an individual who appears before them.What is notarial practice? ›
Notarial Practice deals with the authentication of documents for legal purposes – for example: certifying that copies of a contract or other legal documents, like proof of identity, birth and marriage certificates, and legal declarations, among others, are in fact, a true copy of the original, or that the signature on ...How much money does a notary make UK? ›
The average salary for Notary jobs is £37,500. Read on to find out how much Notary jobs pay across various UK locations and industries. We have 37 jobs paying higher than the average Notary salary!Is a notary a lawyer in UK? ›
A notary is a specialist lawyer. In England and Wales notaries are appointed and regulated through the Faculty Office of the Archbishop of Canterbury. Most notaries are also solicitors but they do not have to be. Being a notary is a separate profession.
Avoid Notarizing for Family Members
Aside from the financial interest issue, a Florida notary is prohibited from notarizing the signature of a close family member.
May I notarize for my relatives? There is no specific prohibition against notarizing a spouse's or relative's signature or notarizing for a spouse's business.Can a notary marry a family member in Florida? ›
A: Yes. You may perform a marriage ceremony for a person who is related by blood or marriage. The prohibition against notarizing the signature of a spouse, son, daughter, mother, or father does not apply because you are not notarizing the signature of the bride and groom.How much does a bonded title cost in Arkansas? ›
Arkansas certificate of title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicle. Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100. Bond amounts from $6,001 to $50,000 cost $10 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.What is a notary bond in Arkansas? ›
What is a notary bond? A notary bond is a three-party obligation. The bonding company guarantees to the Arkansas Secretary of State's office that it will pay, on behalf of a commissioned Arkansas notary, any losses incurred by the public up to $7,500 during the notary's commission term.What is a surety bond in Arkansas jail? ›
A surety bond, commonly known as a bail bond, is a contract between an agent licensed in Arkansas and the signer or co-signers, as a guarantee that the defendant will appear for scheduled Arkansas court appearances.What color pen should notaries use? ›
We recommend though using a basic professional blue or black. Many people may not realize green or red are acceptable colors and then become upset about your choice. The type of ink doesn't really matter either, just make sure it isn't erasable!What color pen do notaries use? ›
California does not have any regulation regarding what color ink is used for loan documents or for the notary journal. Majority of lenders will accept either Black or Blue ink. Some lenders will specify what color ink to use, but otherwise as long as you stay with Black or Blue you are safe.What color should documents be signed in? ›
Most commonly, either blue or black ink is used for signing documents. While both are acceptable, many people consider blue the optimal choice. The reasoning behind this is that the color will stand out among the walls of black text on the document while still being dark enough to read.How do I notarize a document signed by two people in different locations? ›
The signers only need to tell you that they signed the document, they intended to sign the document,and they knew what they were signing. In the body of the acknowledgment,insert the name of each individual who appeared before you to acknowledge his or her signature.
A Notary Public is, therefore, a public official, usually lawyer, authorized to perform acts in legal affairs, in particular witnessing signatures on documents, verification and authentication of documents amidst other functions.Can a Kansas notary notarize a Missouri document? ›
Jurisdiction of a Kansas Notary
The notary may notarize documents while in Kansas; however, the notary may not notarize documents as a Kansas notary when they are in Missouri or otherwise outside the state of Kansas.
The prohibited acts for a notary are stated in Section 2 of Rule VI of the 2004 Rules on Notarial Practise. He cannot notarise documents outside his regular place of work or business and outside the territory of the place where he was commissioned.Does a power of attorney need to be notarized in Arkansas? ›
While Arkansas does not technically require you to get your POA notarized, notarization is very strongly recommended. Under Arkansas law, when you sign your POA in the presence of a notary public, your signature is presumed to be genuine—meaning your POA is more ironclad.Can we notarize electronically signed documents? ›
For electronic documents, this requires electronic signatures and an electronic version of the notary's seal. The notary will record all required information for the notary's journal records. Usually, the notary must also retain an audio and video recording of the notarization session.Is online notary legal in Arkansas? ›
Remote Online Notarization (RON) Act 1047 of 2021 at a glance. Allows Arkansas eNotaries in good standing to perform remote notarization when an approved solution provider is utilized.How much should I pay for a notary? ›
Notaries usually charge a fee of one percent to 1.5 percent of the property's selling price for a Deed of Absolute Sale. Supposing the value of the property is P1,000,000, one percent of that amount is P10,000. That amount appears to be pretty steep considering that the notary will just perform notarial acts.How do you get your notary license? ›
- be 18 years of age or older (there is no maximum age set by statute)
- be a legal California resident.
- complete a course of study approved by the Secretary of State.
- satisfactorily complete and pass a written examination prescribed by the Secretary of State.
- clear a background check.
What Do Arkansas Surety Bonds Cost? Surety bonds generally cost 1-15% of the required bond amount. Costs vary significantly depending on the bond amount you need and your rate (which is the percentage of the full bond amount you must pay).How do I become a signing agent in Arkansas? ›
- Be commissioned as a Notary Public in your state (required).
- Take a loan signing training course.
- Pass an exam and background screening that are SPW compliant.
- Buy your Signing Agent supplies.
- Purchase a minimum $25,000 E&O insurance policy.
- Start working as a Notary Signing Agent.
Bring original and submit two (2) photocopies of each document or ID. Examples of supporting documents are: birth certificate, school records, medical records, Driver's License, passport, US permanent resident card, State ID, Voter's ID, etc.What kind of expense is notary? ›
According to the Internal Revenue Service, fees received for notary services should be reported on Schedule C (Form 1040) or Schedule C-EZ (Form 1040), Net Profit From Business.